skip to Main Content

European Furniture, Decorations & European and American Fine Art
Wednesday, December 7 at 11am

Combining the long and rich history of the fine and decorative arts in Europe, this sale offers examples of furniture, porcelain, carpets and decorations from the Continent and England, as well as fine art from Europe and America. Highlights include a group of ceramics from the Wiener Werkstatte’s master Michael Powolny, a diverse collection  of decorative arts from the Chinese Porcelain Company, The Collection of Pierre Durand including a Tournai Porcelain Part Dinner Service, and a fine selection of figural bronzes from a European Collector. Furniture highlights include a selection of Biedermeier, Scandinavian, Italian and French furniture, and a large Napoleon II Carved Bone Mirror from Dieppe. Tapestries and a rare Isfahan rug round out the decorative arts section of the sale.

The fine art section of the sale features paintings, drawings and prints by European and American artists in a variety of styles and motifs in the Western art canon. Academic studies and early Continental  landscape views complement 19th century interiors, portraits and still lifes by Léonard Defrance, Carl Holsoe, August Fricke, Robert Philippi, and James Abbott McNeil Whistler. Works by American artists  Aaron Shikler, Thomas Hart Benton  and Raphael Soyer represent the burgeoning strength of American art movements at the beginning of the 20th century. Other highlights include a painting by William Morris Hunt titled The Listeners , and lovely oil on paper by Rosa Bonheur titled Chevres puissants , and a  landscape by Hermenegildo Anglada Camarasa from his Montserrat period.

CATALOGUE ONLINE
Wednesday, November 23

GALLERY PREVIEW
Monday, November 28 – 9 am – 5 pm
Tuesday, November 29 – 9am – 5pm
Wednesday, November 30 – 9am – 5pm
Thursday, December 1 – 9am – 5pm
Friday, December 2 – 9am – 5pm
Saturday, December 3 – 11am – 5 pm
Sunday, December 4 –  Closed
Monday, December 5 – 9am – 5pm
Tuesday, December 6 – 9am – 5pm

Back To Top