skip to Main Content

A Contemporary Vision: Works from the Melva Bucksbaum Collection, Part II 
Sold to Benefit Art for Access at Bennington College

We are pleased to offer another curated group of works from the collection of Melva Bucksbaum to benefit Art for Access at Bennington College. Collector, patron and curator Melva Bucksbaum (1933-2015) was a passionate supporter of the arts throughout her life. Assembling a large collection of her own, Mrs. Bucksbaum was a risk-taking collector who focused on the artist, not art-world trends, and supported artists through her philanthropic work as well as studio acquisitions. She served as a trustee of the Whitney Museum of American Art and on many other boards including the International Council of the Museum of Modern Art, the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, The Drawing Center, and the International Council of the Tate, London. Mrs. Bucksbaum believed that art was part of our shared cultural heritage and over her lifetime donated many works of art to institutions. It is in that spirit that these works, gifted by her daughter, Mary Bucksbaum Scanlan, are being sold to benefit Art for Access at Bennington College. Art for Access celebrates Bennington College’s pioneering visual arts legacy by providing funding for scholarships through the sale of artworks. Included in the sale are works by well-known, emerging and mid-career artists in a myriad of styles, media and price-points.

GALLERY PREVIEW
Friday, May 20 – 9-6pm
Saturday, May 21 –11-5pm
Sunday, May 22 – Closed
Monday, May 23 – 9-5pm
Tuesday, May 24 – 9-5pm
Wednesday, May 25 – 9-5pm
Thursday, May 26 – 9-5pm
Friday, May 27 – 9-5pm
Saturday, May 28 – 11-5pm
Sunday, May 29 – Closed
Monday, May 30 – Closed
Tuesday, May 31 – 9-5pm

Back To Top